Skip to content

John Barlow and Ferris Gilli — Touchstone Distinguished Books Honorable Mention 2022

John Barlow and Ferris Gilli (Editors) are the recipient of a Touchstone Distinguished Books Honorable Mention for 2022 for the volume Where Rain Would Stay: The Haiku Poetry of Peggy Willis Lyles (Ormskirk, UK: Snapshot Press, 2022). 

Commentary from the Panel:

More than a decade after her passing, a broad collection of Peggy Willis Lyles’ masterful haiku have been assembled by longtime editors John Barlow and Ferris Gilli. Where Rain Would Stay, a title Lyles chose herself, is a fine tribute to her legacy as one of the most highly regarded English-language haiku poets to date.

Lyles first began publishing haiku in the mid-1970s in pursuit of what she called “that shock of recognition.”  Over more than three and a half decades, Lyles would go on to publish some 1,800 poems in her lifetime. Each one, as Lyles said, “merges images from the exterior world with the landscape of the poet’s heart so effectively that a receptive and fully participatory reader can become part of the poem.”


morning glories

we talk about

the way things change


deep autumn

an oak tree’s absence

shapes the sky


Each image holds an indelible scene that asks the reader to join her in seeing. 



plucking silver

from the dark lagoon


the scarred back 

of the manatee

heat lightning


The jagged pattern left by a boat strike might resemble a zigzag of lightning. Also, with her gift of subtlety, Lyles invites a visceral response to witnessing both manatee and heat lightning with a kind of stunned silence. 

Always grounded in season and time, Lyles’ haiku allows her readers an opportunity to slow down and recall their own individual touchstone moments.

As editors, Barlow and Gilli faced the Herculean task of reading some 1,600 published but uncollected haiku Lyles had left behind. From those, they culled their final selection pool to some 800 haiku. The editors weighed the individual and collective merits of the poems in deciding how best to strengthen the beloved legacy that Lyles had already established.

In addition, the editors relied on their long friendships with Lyles. The central question they returned to time and again was whether Lyles herself would have approved of this poem being preserved for posterity. In the end, 236 haiku are included in Where Rain Would Stay. The decisions of the editors were also driven by the simple fact that each poem had to reflect Lyles’ innate ability to represent the human condition.

The structural arrangement of Where Rain Would Stay is according to the seasonal progression to which the editors have sequenced the poems linking one to the next. Furthermore, links can be identified throughout the collection as a whole. Whether the links are obvious or opaque the reader may appreciate the quality of writing simply by blindly opening to any page because as the editors remind us, Where Rain Would Stay is also “a continuum that may be entered into at any point.” 

And with so many poems to appreciate, Where Rain Would Stay is also a chronicle of life’s ordinary joys:


sun shower

the car ahead

full of balloons


winter sun

the curve of laughter

down the tree-house slide


Robert Spiess, the longtime editor of Modern Haiku and one of the earliest to publish Lyles’ haiku, wrote about the need for the “intelligence of the heart” when writing haiku, and reading it, for that matter.  Lyles certainly demonstrates a mastery of just this kind of emotional intelligence in her haiku.


in spite of everything forsythia


into the afterlife red leaves


Where Rain Would Stay is a timeless classic in the pantheon of haiku collections. It deserves to be held up as an example of one poet’s profound success with this deceptively simple form. Poem after poem, Lyles takes life as it is, showing it to us in all its myriad permutations. Each experience washes over us and we are the ones who are changed. 

Imbued with an instinctive ear for the musicality of haiku, Lyles’ poems “get at the heart of things,” as Barlow and Gilli have said, concluding that “These poems are indeed a lasting gift to us all.”



a place in the rock

where rain would stay

See the complete list of winners of both Individual Poem Awards and Distinguished Books Awards in the Touchstone Archives.

This Post Has One Comment

  1. I like the illusively simple form of these haiku. The fathomless nature is wonderfull.

Comments are closed.

Back To Top