skip to Main Content

The Touchstone Awards for Individual Poems are bestowed annually on haiku and senryu that represent noteworthy additions to English-language haiku in the estimation of a distinguished panel of haiku poets, editors and scholars. The Awards are open to any English-language haiku or senryu first published in the current calendar year. For current and past award recipients, please see the Touchstone Archive.

How to Submit

The deadline for the latest Touchstone Awards for Individual Poems is announced on our  blog. See Touchstone Awards.

You may nominate no more than two poems, only one of which may be your own work. Nominated poems must be submitted with our entry form.

Entry Form: Touchstone Awards for Individual Poems

What Poems Are Eligible?

Any individual who had at least one haiku or senryu published during the award year may nominate two haiku or senryu, one of which may be his or her own. For the purposes of this award, publication is constituted by, but not limited to, first appearance in a juried public venue such as a book, journal, online site or contest. The Awards Committee reserves the right to determine whether a poem meets this criterion. Administrators of the Touchstone Awards, as well as Awards for Individual Poems panelists, are not eligible.

The Panel for Award Year 2021

Roberta Beary began the study of haiku when they lived in Japan for five years in the 1990’s. Their first haiku collection, The Unworn Necklace, was published 15 years later. It received a finalist award from the Poetry Society of America and won both the Haiku Society of America and Snapshot Press book awards. Fast forward another 15 years. Their second haiku collection, Carousel (forthcoming), won a Snapshot Press book award. In 2015, their haibun collection, Deflection (Accents Publishing), was named a National Poetry Month Best Pick by Washington Independent Review of Books, was a finalist for both the Eric Hoffer and Touchstone awards, and winner of a Haiku Society of America book awardA native New Yorker, they live in the west of Ireland where they recently collaborated on One Breath: The Reluctant Engagement Project, which pairs their haiku with artwork by families of people with disabilities. They are the longtime haibun editor for the journal Modern Haiku.

A native San Franciscan, Chuck Brickley lived in rural British Columbia for 35 years. He was Associate Editor of Modern Haiku under the editorship of Robert Spiess from 1980-1985. In addition to haiku magazines, his work has appeared in numerous anthologies, including Canadian Haiku AnthologyThe Haiku Anthology, and Haiku In English: The First Hundred Years. His first book of haiku, earthshine, won a THF Touchstone Award for Distinguished Books 2017, and an HSA Merit Book Award 2017 Honorable Mention. His haibun “Is Where The Car Is” was nominated for a Pushcart Prize.

Anna Maris writes haiku in Swedish and English. She is the chair of the literary section of the Swedish Author’s Union and a board member of the Swedish Haiku Society. She teaches haiku in schools and has a haiku circle at the temple of Yangtorp in the South of Sweden. Anna has won many awards for haiku, senryu and renku. Her bilingual single collection Lifedeathetc (2016) is published by Red Moon Press. She has two earlier haiku books, published in Swedish. Her work has been included in numerous anthologies, including A New Resonance 11. She is currently employed as a journalist and media trainer in Sweden and Ukraine.

Pravat Kumar Padhy has obtained his Masters of Science and Technology and a Ph.D from Indian Institute of Technology, ISM Dhanbad. His literary work is cited in interviews with Indian Writing in English, Spectrum History of Indian Literature in English, Alienation in Contemporary Indian English Poetry, History of Contemporary Indian English Poetry, etc. His Japanese short forms of poetry (haiku, haibun, haiga, tanka, tanka prose, etc.) have been widely published.

His haiku appeared in World Haiku Review, LYNX, Ambrosia, The Notes from the Gean, Simply Haiku, Acorn, Shamrock, Kokako, The Heron’s Nest, Frogpond, Modern Haiku, Tinywords, Presence, Bottle Rockets, Lilliput Review, Bones, is/let, Under the Basho, The Cicada’s Cry, A Hundred Gourds, Akitsu Quarterly, The Mainichi Daily News, The Asahi Shimbun, and others.

His haiku are featured in many anthologies, namely The Temple Bell Stops, A Vast Sky, The Light Singing, Behind the Tree Line, a hole in the light: The Red Moon Anthology of English-Language Haiku, behind the mask: haiku in the time of Covid 19, and others.

His poems received many awards, honours, and commendations including the Editors’ Choice Award at Writers Guild of India, Sketchbook, Asian American Poetry, Poetbay, Vancouver Cherry Blossom Festival Haiku Invitational, UNESCO International Year Haiku Award of Water Co-operation, The Kloštar Ivanić International Haiku Award, IAFOR Vladimir Devide Haiku Award, and others. He guest-edited “Per Diem (Celestial Bodies-Monoku)”, The Haiku Foundation, November 2019.

His work is showcased in the exhibition “Haiku Wall”, Historic Liberty Theatre Gallery in Bend, Oregon, USA, and the tanka, ‘I mingle’ is published in the “Kudo Resource Guide”, University of California, Berkeley. His taiga (tanka-photo) is featured in the 20th Anniversary Taiga Showcase of Tanka Society of America. “How Beautiful”, a poem written by him, is included in the Undergraduate English Curriculum at the university level. He has seven collections of verse to his credit including Cosmic Symphony: A Haiku Collection (, 2019) and The Speaking Stone (Authors Press, 2020).

He has experimented with a new genre “Hainka”, a poetic fusion of haiku and tanka, with the image linking of the ‘fragment of the haiku as the ‘pivot line’ of the following tanka.

Christopher Patchel’s haikai has appeared in leading journals, contests, and anthologies over the past twenty years. His collection, Turn Turn, was a Touchstone Distinguished Book Award finalist. From 2016 to 2018 he was editor of Frogpond, the journal of the Haiku Society of America. Apropos of his profession as a graphic designer, he created the cover art for Frogpond from 2012 to 2018.

Angela Terry is a Seattle, WA-area poet whose work has been published in numerous print and online journals and anthologies, received awards in a variety of international haiku contests, and been translated into a number of languages. She is a New Resonance poet and a winner of the Museum of Haiku Literature Award. Angela is a past member of the Haiku Society of America Executive Committee, and has served as Washington State Regional Coordinator for the Haiku Society of America, and President of Haiku Northwest.

Back To Top