Skip to content

The HaikuNow! Contest originated in our second year of operations, 2010, and was a popular feature for the Foundation.  We offered awards in three categories: Traditional (5-7-5 or nearly so, with a cut and a season word); Contemporary (less concerned with syllable counts and “classical” topics); and Innovative (everything else). The contest also featured a Guest Judge—a well-known poet, scholar or critic—from outside the haiku community in one of the categories. These Guest Judges included Billy Collins (Traditional, 2010), Jane Hirshfield (Traditional, 2011-2012), Peter Duppenthaler (Traditional, 2013), and Thomas A Clark (Traditional, 2014). Below you’ll find results from each of these events.

Back To Top