Author Topic: indecent haiku  (Read 4803 times)

josie hibbing

• View Profile
indecent haiku
« on: January 10, 2011, 01:53:50 AM »
Hi! I visit a few haiku groups regularly. I'm not an expert, but I can tell that a lot of the postings are not haiku. I feel bored. Lately, there has been so many indecent haiku postings and some of them are sickening. What are the rules about indecent haiku, or is there such a thing as indecent haiku?

Josie

Lorin

• View Profile
Re: indecent haiku
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2011, 02:59:28 AM »
Just avoid them, Josie, if they're not what you're interested in. Find the places, such as here, where you can develop along the lines you'd like to without the 'noise' of things you're offended by, whatever they may be. You don't have to be a captive audience to anything that you're uncomfortable with.

cheers,

Lorin

AlanSummers

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2011, 06:15:03 AM »
Gosh Josie, I don't know which haiku groups you are with, but it sounds horrible. 

A lot of people profess to write haiku but seem to have little interest.  I recently joined a group blind because the blurb said folks were interested in serious haiku.  It was far from that except the main person has been published well, and even did well in a Japanese haiku competition last year, so I'm surprised. 

I don't know what you mean by indecent in the context of haiku postings, but if something is crudely written about a taboo subject, it can be really offensive. 

It's also best to consider leaving a group (quietly) if you are not getting anywhere.  I feel you have moved forward in leaps and bounds here in an incredibly short time.

So I hope to see you here more. ;-)

Alan

cat

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2011, 06:26:07 AM »
Hello, Josie,