skip to Main Content

2008 Robert Spiess Memorial Haiku Award

Judges: Lee Gurga and Peter Yovu

First Prize
Author: Natalia L. Rudychev
letting go
the heart
of a sparrow
Second Prize
Author: Linda Jeannette Ward
cog railway—
white sky
becomes snowflakes
Third Prize
Author: Peggy Willis Lyles
a laughing girl
with rain in her shoe
Honorable Mention
Author: Janelle Barrera
wide open
the roses we leave
on the motel dresser
Honorable Mention
Author: ken hurm
lantern shadows
two-teat harmony
in the milk pail
Honorable Mention
Author: Dru Philippou
sparse shadow
of the plum tree
the pull of an old friend
Honorable Mention
Author: Sandra Simpson
hot night
at the filling station
songs of love
Honorable Mention
Author: Eduard Tara
Shop window—
winter light along
the violin strings
Back To Top