Skip to content

2023 Touchstone Awards for Distinguished Books — Awarded and Honorable Mentions

The Haiku Foundation is pleased to announce The Touchstone Distinguished Books Award winners and honorable mentions for books of haiku and related forms published in 2023.  The one hundred and one nominated for this year’s awards represent a rich variety of English-language books from many nations and haiku traditions.  Panel members read every book and then each one nominated ten books for consideration. Through a series of votes and discussion, the panel members arrived at the Short List.  Following another round of voting and discussion, the panel members selected two award winners and three honorable mentions.


The Touchstone Short List included outstanding volumes of haiku and haibun showcasing a wide range of subject matter and themes and spanning an equally broad spectrum of styles, from traditional and nature-based works to experimental and language-based treatments.


I speak for the entire panel when I say that everyone recognized that each book on the Short List was unique and had great merit. I can attest to the difficulty of distinguishing the ‘best’ among these books. I wish to thank the Distinguished Books Award Panelists — Susan Antolin, Kat Lehmann,  Peter Newman, Lorraine Padden and Christoper Patchel — for their diligence, expertise, and effort. The Awarded and Honored Books reflect the panel’s assessment of the most noteworthy offerings from this year’s highly distinguished field.
Touchstone Distinguished Books Award Winners for 2023
  • Clausen, Tom, One Day (Ithaca, NY: Stark Mountain Press Book, 2023)
  • Watts, Lew, Eira (Ormskirk, UK: Snapshot Press, 2023)
Honorable Mentions
  • Baker-Gard, Shelley (Translator),  Freiling, Michael (Translator), and Takikawa, Satsuki (Translator), They Never Asked (Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR, 2023)
  • Kadric, Elmedin, rust (Winchester, VA: Red Moon Press, 2023)
  • Stevenson, John, This Once (Winchester, VA: Red Moon Press, 2023)


Bruce H. Feingold

Touchstone Awards Chairperson and Touchstone Distinguished Book Awards Coordinator

This Post Has 6 Comments

  1. Many thanks to the panelists for honoring our book, They Never Asked and well deserved congratulations to all the other poets recognized .

  2. Congratulations to the winners and all those who made the long list. A fine reminder that I have a lot more books I need to read!

  3. Congratulations to all the winners and all the poets who made the longlist as well!

Comments are closed.

Back To Top